Kohlberg Stages

download report

Transcript Kohlberg Stages

Kohlberg’s Stages of
Moral Reasoning
Lawrence Kohlberg
Theory about how people deal with moral questions.
Based on extensive research and observation.
He concluded
That there are six major stages of moral reasoning
related to human growth and development.
People are drawn to the stages higher than theirs through
listening to and reflecting on the reasons of others who
are at a higher stage.
Stages of Moral Reasoning
Preconventional Level: Focus on Self
Conventional Level: Focus on Group
Postconventional Level: Focus on Principles
Studies indicate:
Stages are natural, not artificial or invented ones
They are universal and sequential
One does not skip stages, but possible to slip back under stress
May be on different levels in various aspects of life
Not everyone reaches mature morality
Statistics indicate:
15 to 20 percent of Americans adults think at preconventional level
½ percent reach stage 6
Stages include growth:
from totally self-centered to totally other-centered
from reliance on external authority to fidelity to internalized values
Preconventional Level:
Focus on the self
Stage 1: Punishment and Obedience
•Physical consequences determine the goodness or badness of an act.
•Avoidance of punishment is the key motivation.
•The person submits to power and authority in order to avoid
Stage 2: Personal Usefulness
•What is right is that which satisfies one’s own needs and
occasionally the needs of others.
•Human relations and fairness are interpreted in a physical,
pragmatic way: what is useful to me?
•“You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours” is a basic
Focus on the group
Stage 3: Conforming to the will of the group
•Good behavior is that which pleases or helps others and gets
approval from them.
•One conforms to standard ideas of appropriate behavior.
•One earns acceptance by being “nice.”
•Behavior is often judged by intention—”they mean well.”
Stage 4: Law and Order
•One sees obedience to rules for their own sake as necessary
to maintain order.
•Right behavior consists of doing one’s duty and respecting
•Flaws in the system are due to the failure of individuals to
obey the system.
Postconventional Level:
Focus on the principles
Stage 5: Social Contract
•Right action is described in terms of general values that have
been agreed upon by the whole society.
•Laws are justified on the basis of general principles.
•One may work to change the law for the sake of society.
•Right action is seen as a matter of personal values.
Stage 6: Personal Conscience
Right is a decision of personal conscience in
accord with abstract ethical principles that apply
to all persons everywhere.
Decisions are based upon universal principles of
justice, the reciprocity and equality of human
rights, and respect for the dignity of human
beings as individual persons.
• Choices are grounded in genuine moral interest in the well
being of others, regardless of who or where they are.
Examples of stages:
Stage 1
A child obeys his mother so that he will not be punished.
Stage 2
A child follows school rules so she will
be selected as a hall monitor.
Stage 3
A young person drinks beer at a party because everyone
else is doing it.
Stage 4
A young person obeys all traffic laws simply because
they are the law.
Stage 5
Civil rights advocates fight for laws that support equal
Stage 6
Some people are willing to go to prison or to endure physical
pain as a consequence of their beliefs and choices.
A person can make a morally
good decision at any stage,
even the lowest
We are, however, called to
mature to the insight and
freedom of the higher stages.
Example: telling the truth
 Stage 1:
I don’t want to get spanked! (or grounded)
 Stage 2:
If I do I’ll get to use the car to go to the dance. Etc.
 Stage 3:
My parents (teachers) will think I’m a good person
 Stage 4:
You should – it’s the right thing to do.
 Stage 5:
I believe in it, but sometimes I may not be able to tell the truth
because I have to safeguard someone else’s privacy or
confidence, or the person is asking me something that s/he has
no right to know!
 Stage 6:
I will always stand up for the truth, even if it costs me my life, or
property, or friends, or reputation.