Integrated Marketing Communications
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Transcript Integrated Marketing Communications
Media and Estimates of
Audience Exposure
Media Schedule
Rating Aud. Size # of Ads
Survivor 21.3
Friends 23.9
X-Files
10.6
Felicity
5.8
Total
---
22.5mm
25.2mm
11.2mm
6.1mm
---
3
2
4
1
10
GRPs
GI
63.9 67.5mm
47.8 50.4mm
42.2 44.8mm
5.8
6.1mm
159.7 168.8mm
Huh?
• Your schedule generates 168.8mm HH GI
yet there are only 105.5mm TV HH
– How is this possible?
• Your schedule generates 159.7 GRPs, with
each GRP equal to 1% of the audience
– How can you have more than 100%
Duplication of Impressions
• GRPs and GI allow for the
duplication of impressions
– Someone might see more than one
ad in your schedule
• Ex. Survivor and X-Files
• Ex. multiple episodes of X-Files
• Ex. multiple ads in a single show
Reach and Frequency
GRPs
=
Viewers
Counted
Once
GRPs
=
Reach
X
X
Average Number
of Times
They View
Frequency
Reach is net unduplicated audience
Frequency is average number of exposures
Estimating Reach and
Calculating Frequency
• Back to our 10 unit schedule of ads
– GRPs = 159.7
– Reach = 60.0
– Frequency = 2.66 or 2.7
– Numbers comes from “reach curves”
that contain reach estimates for various
media vehicles and GRP levels
– Frequency is then calculated from reach
Estimating GRPs and
Calculating Reach
• Planners don’t always start with
GRPs leading to reach estimates
– Sometimes they have a desired reach or
frequency in mind and calculate the
number of GRPs they need to schedule
– Sometimes they can only afford a
certain number of GRPs and use a clear
frequency goal to estimate the reach
CPM
• CPM = Cost per thousand impressions
• CPM = Cost of ads / Total GIs in (000)
– Ex. CPM for Survivor
– CPM = $400,000 / 22,500(000) = $17.78
– Ex. CPM for 10 unit schedule
– CPM = $2,450,000 / 168,800(000) = $14.51
CPP
• CPP = Cost per rating point
• CPP = Cost of ads / Total GRPs
– Ex. CPP for Survivor
– CPP = $400,000 / 21.3 = $18,779.34
– Ex. CPP for 10 unit schedule
– CPP = $2,450,000 / 159.7 = $15,341.26
From HH to Demo Groups
• So far, we have focused on households
– But strategic communicators are typically
interested in smaller demographic groups
– We need some way to convert household
audience numbers to demo group numbers
– This is where VPVH — viewers per 1000 viewing
households — is helpful
VPVH
• Viewers per viewing households
– Telescopic look inside the households
that are tuned to a specific program
– For every 1000 HH in the US, how many
demo group members are viewers
• Number of viewers / 1000 HH
VPVH
• Describes audience composition
• Ex. For Survivor, W18-49 VPVH = 644
– If we count the W18-49 who watch
Survivor, we find that there are 644 for
every 1000 Survivor viewing households
– 644 W18-49 / 1000 HH x Total Survivor HHs
– 644 W18-49 x 22,500(000) = 14,490,000 W18-49