Transcript Hinduism

Daily Life, Rites,
Daily Life
Five Constant Duties
• In addition to the normal activities associated
with one's profession Hindus have five
constant duties they must follow everyday in
their lives. They go as followed: Dharma,
Tirthay, Utsava, Samskras and Sarva Brahm.
Daily Life
• Dharma which translates into righteousness
which is living a virtuous life in accordance with
the teachings of the scriptures. Cultivate virtues
of purity, self-control, detachment, thinking of
others first, truth and ahims. Be respectful of
parents, teachers, and elders. Dharma also means
performing all duties associated with one's
normal profession, and individual and social
obligations. Work must be performed purely for
its own sake. This means that all actions must be
performed for excellence and not merely for
Daily Life
• Tirthay which translates into
pilgrimage is visiting different holy
persons, temples, and sacred
pilgrimage sites. Such journeys
provide freedom from routine life and
thereby freshen the mind. Pilgrimages
also help to create a sense of
togetherness in the family, since all
members undertake the pilgrimages
Daily Life
• Utsava which translates into Holy Days is
participating in festivals and holy days in the
home and temple. Observe fasts on holy days.
This practice inculcates God-consciousness,
refreshes the mind and creates a sense of
togetherness in the family and the community.
Hindu sages tell us that occasional fasting
prevents bodily diseases, restores the body's
healing power, and heals the mind by removing
lust, anger, hatred, pride, and jealousy.
Daily Life
• Samskara which translates into Sacraments is
to perform various Samskras in accordance
with the scriptures. Samskras are the religious
ceremonies which mark and sanctify an
individual's passage through life. They purify
the mind by inculcating truthfulness in the
mind, and purity and generosity in the heart.
Daily Life
Sarva Brahm
• Sarva Brahm is translates into God is in all
which is the Hindu belief that God lives in the
hearts of all beings and that you have to
“practice this truth, realize it and be free.”
• There are many different types of
festivals Hindu’s celebrate. Such as
Makar Sankranti, Thaipusam, Rama
Navami and Vishnu.
Makar Sankranti
• A festival of harvest and the celebration of
winter solstice. “Sankranti” refers to the
transmigration of the sun from one zodiac,
to the other. There are 12 sankrantis in all
but the Makar Sankranti refers to the
transition from Sagittarius to Capricorn.
Cock fights are held on this day as a
prominent part of the festival.
• Celebrated by the Thai community during the
month of Thai (January/February),
celebrating a star at its highest point so it can
vanquish the evil demon Soorapadman. The
festival consists of eating Satvik food while
constantly thinking about god.
Rama Navami
• A celebration of the birth of Lord Rama. He
is the 7th incarnation of the Dashavatara of
Vishnu. Also known as Chaitra Masa
Suklapaksha Navami, as it marks the end of
the nine day Chaitra-Navratri. Highlights of
the day include Panakam a sweet drink
prepared with jaggery and pepper.
• A new year festival celebrated in Kerala.
Falls on April 14th on the Gregorian
calendar. The most important event is a
feast consisting of raw rice, fresh lemons,
golden cucumber, and many more foods.
The Hindu Rites
• The Hindus have several rites such as the
Jatakarma (birth ceremonies) , Upanayana
(initiation), Vivaha (marriage) and Antyeshti
(funeral and rites for the dead).